Doctoral Consortium Call for Submissions

The ISWC 2010 Doctoral Consortium will take place as part of the 9th International Semantic Web Conference at the Shanghai International Convention Centre, Shanghai, China. This forum will allow doctoral students to present their high quality research work and to obtain guidance from mentors as well as to meet other postgraduate students working in different aspects of Semantic Web.

The goal of the Doctoral Consortium is to create an opportunity for PhD students to test their research ideas, present their current progress and future plans, and receive constructive criticism and insights related to their future work and career perspectives. A mentor (peer researchers and experts in the field) will be assigned to each student to provide individual feedback and advice on the paper, the focus of the work and further developments.

Students who are submitting papers on specific portions of their work to the main conference are also invited to apply to the Doctoral Consortium. In this case, the paper for the Doctoral Consortium should give an overview of the student’s dissertation research, and the paper for the main conference should focus on a specific piece of this work.

All papers submitted to the Doctoral Consortium stream will undergo a thorough reviewing process with a view to providing detailed and constructive feedback. Students submitting accepted papers must register for the conference and present the paper there.

The best submissions will be selected for full presentation at the ISWC 2010 Doctoral Consortium Track, which is one of the tracks during the main conference, and published in the ISWC 2010 printed conference proceedings. Other submissions will be accepted as short papers or posters. All accepted submissions will be distributed to conference attendees and made available on the conference web site.

Authors of accepted submissions will be required to provide semantic annotations for the abstract of their submission for the Semantic Web (help will be provided for this task). Details will be provided on the conference Web page at the time of acceptance.

Important Dates

  • Submissions due: July 5, 2010 (11:59pm Hawaii time, GMT-10)
  • Notification: August 16, 2010


The Doctoral Consortium track of ISWC 2010 solicits submission of PhD research papers dealing with foundational and core issues, application domains and practical aspects of Semantic Web research. Topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Applications of the Semantic Web
  • Applications with clear lessons learned
  • Evaluations of Semantic Web technologies
  • Semantic Web for e-business, e-science, e-government, and other application domains
  • Semantic Web technologies for multimedia content
  • Personal Information Management
  • Management of Semantic Web Data
  • Languages, tools and methodologies for representing and managing Semantic Web data
  • Database technologies for the Semantic Web
  • Search, query, and visualization of the Semantic Web
  • Robust and scalable knowledge management and reasoning on the Web
  • Machine learning and human language technologies for the Semantic Web
  • Semantic Web content creation, annotation, and extraction
  • Ontologies and Reasoning
  • Ontology creation, extraction, and evolution
  • Ontology mapping, merging, and alignment
  • Ontology reasoning and query answering
  • Approximate reasoning techniques for the Web
  • Evaluation and ranking of ontologies
  • Ontology search
  • Semantic Web Architecture
  • Semantic Web middleware
  • Semantic Web services
  • Agents on the Semantic Web
  • Semantics in peer-to-peer systems and grids
  • Social Semantic Web
  • Social networks and processes on the Semantic Web
  • Semantic web technology for collaboration and cooperation
  • Representing and reasoning about trust, privacy, and security

Submission Information

Doctoral Consortium papers should include a clear presentation of the PhD research direction, sound situation of the PhD research in the context of Semantic Web and related fields, a report on the work done so far and a plan of further research.

Submissions must be made via EasyChair to the Doctoral Consortium track of ISWC 2010 at

Submissions must be in PDF. Submissions must be formatted in the style of the Springer Publications format for Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS). Submissions must be no longer than 8 pages.

For details on the LNCS style, see Springer’s Author Instructions at


Program Chair

Jeff Z. Pan, University of Aberdeen

Program Committee

  • Abraham Bernstein, University of Zurich
  • Meghyn Bienvenu, University of Bremen
  • Huajun Chen, Zhejiang University
  • Ying Ding, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Jianfeng Du, the Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Jerome Euzenat, INRIA & LIG
  • Giorgos Flouris, FORTH
  • Zhiqiang Gao, Southeast Universit
  • Marko Grobelnik, Jozef Stefan Institute
  • Siegfried Handschuh, DERI
  • Andreas Harth, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Stijn Heymans, Vienna University of Technology
  • Wei Hu, Nanjing University
  • Zhisheng Huang, Vrije University Amsterdam
  • Roman Kontchakov, Birkbeck University of London
  • Diana Maynard, University of Sheffield
  • Enrico Motta, The Open University
  • Lyndon Nixon, STI Innsbruck
  • Guilin Qi, Southeast University
  • Manuel Salvadores, University of Southampton
  • Guus Schreiber, Vrije University Amsterdam
  • Pavel Shvaiko, Informatica Trentina
  • Yi-Dong Shen, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Amit Sheth, Wright State University
  • Elena Simperl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Giorgos Stamou, National Technical University of Athens
  • Giorgos Stoilos, Oxford University
  • Heiner Stuckenschmidt, University of Mannheim
  • Vojtech Svatek, University of Economics, Prague
  • Anni-Yasmin Turhan, Dresden University of Technology
  • Denny Vrandecic, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Holger Wache, University of Applied Science Northweastern Switzerland
  • Haofen Wang, Shanghai Jiaotong University
  • Shenghui Wang, Vrije University Amsterdam
  • Ming Zhang, Beijing University
  • Yuting Zhao, University of Aberdeen
  • Hai-Tao Zheng, Tsinghua University