Posters and Demonstrations Track Call for Submissions

The posters and demonstrations track of ISWC 2010 will continue the established tradition of providing an interaction and connection opportunity for researchers and practitioners to present and demonstrate their new and innovative work-in-progress. The track gives conference attendees a way to learn about novel on-going research projects that might not yet be complete, but whose preliminary results are already interesting. The track also provides presenters with an excellent opportunity to obtain feedback from their peers in an informal setting from knowledgeable sources.

Full papers accepted for the Research and In Use tracks are explicitly invited to submit a poster or demo to the Posters and Demo track. The submission format is the same as for the normal posters and Demos but must cite the accepted full paper and needs to include an explanation on what the Demo/Poster adds on top of the conference presentation. Such added value could include: a) extended results and experiments not presented in the conference paper for space reasons, b) a demo of a supporting prototype implementation wherever software is available.

Important Dates

  • Abstracts due: August 23, 2010, 23:59 (11:59pm) Hawaii time
  • Notification: September 13, 2010

Topics of Interest

Topics of interest for the posters and demonstrations track include, but are not limited to:

  • Semantic User Interfaces
  • Interacting with Semantic Web data
  • Semantic data annotation
  • Semantic Data Mashup
  • Natural Language Interfaces
  • Semantic Visualization
  • Semantic Data Processing
  • Ontology modeling, reuse, extraction, and evolution
  • Ontology reasoning, mapping, merging, and alignment
  • Semantic Searching
  • Ontology evaluation
  • Applications of the Semantic Web
  • Semantic Web for desktops or personal information management
  • Semantic Web technologies for multimedia, sensors, and situational awareness
  • Semantic Web technologies for e-Science, e-Commerce, e-Government
  • Semantic Web technologies for software and systems engineering
  • Mobile Semantic Web Applications
  • Semantic Wikis
  • Social Semantic Web Applications

Submission Information

Submissions and reviewing will be handled using the EasyChair reviewing system. Papers must be submitted via EasyChair to the Posters and Demos track of ISWC 2010 at

Authors must submit a four-page extended abstract for evaluation. The abstract must clearly demonstrate relevance to the Semantic Web. All poster and demo submissions will undergo a common review process, including those ones that have full papers accepted. Decisions about acceptance will be based on relevance to the Semantic Web, originality, potential significance, topicality and clarity.

Submissions must be in PDF. Submissions must be formatted in the style of the Springer Publications format for Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS). Submissions that exceed the page limit may be rejected without review.

For details on the LNCS style, see Springer's Author Instructions at

For demo submissions, authors are strongly encouraged to include in their submission a link to where the demo (live or recorded video) can be found.

At least one of the authors must be a registered participant at the conference, and attend their Poster/Demo Session to present the work. The abstracts for all accepted posters and demos will be given to all conference attendees and published on the conference web site, but will not be published by Springer in the printed conference proceedings.

Metadata for all successful submissions will be included in the conference metadata corpus and made publicly available at Detailed information will be provided with the acceptance notification.


Program Chairs

  • Axel Polleres
  • Huajun Chen

Program Committee

  • Fernando Bobillo
  • Faisal Alkhateeb
  • Renzo Angles
  • Sören Auer
  • Diego Berrueta
  • Eva Blomqvist
  • Paolo Bouquet
  • Irene Celino
  • Kei Cheung
  • Oscar Corcho
  • Gianluca Correndo
  • Philippe Cudre-Mauroux
  • Danica Damljanovic
  • Emanuele Della Valle
  • Klaas Dellschaft
  • Gianluca Demartini
  • Birte Glimm
  • Karthik Gomadan
  • Andreas Harth
  • Olaf Hartig
  • Michael Hausenblas
  • Aidan Hogan
  • Katja Hose
  • Giovambattista Ianni
  • Luigi Iannone
  • Michael Kohlhase
  • Thomas Krennwallner
  • Reto Krummenacher
  • Holger Lewen
  • Areti Manataki
  • Elena Montiel
  • Knud Möller
  • Yuan Ni
  • Martin O´Connor
  • Ignazio Palmisano
  • Jeff Pan
  • Alexandre Passant
  • Carlos Pedrinaci
  • Valentina Presutti
  • Jorge Pérez
  • Yves Raimond
  • Jinhai Rao
  • Marta Sabou
  • Simon Schenk
  • Wolf Siberski
  • Patrick Sinclair
  • Mari Carmen Suárez-Figueroa
  • Maria Esther Vidal
  • Yimin Wang
  • Gregory Williams
  • Guotong Xie
  • Mathieu d´Aquin